News Archive

Algoma Utilities cautions against disconnections as winter moratorium ends

Algoma Utilities is advising electric customers who are behind on their bills to begin making payments to avoid service disconnection.

Wisconsin’s Winter Emergency Period, often referred to as the moratorium on residential service disconnection, ends April 15. After that date, utilities statewide may begin to disconnect service to customers who are past due on payment of their electric bills for any period of time, including the winter months.

The end of the winter moratorium on disconnections is fast approaching. Customers are reminded that unpaid bills drive up costs for the whole community. Algoma Utilities does everything it can to collect unpaid bills to help customers avoid service disruptions for nonpayment.

The Public Service Commission of Wisconsin established the annual moratorium — from November 1 to April 15 — to protect customers from service disconnection during harsh Wisconsin winters. Algoma Utilities understands that situations can arise, making it difficult for customers to pay their bills. However, to avoid disconnection, customers are urged to make payments and/or payment arrangements. Algoma Utilities we would like to help these customers make suitable arrangements to avoid shutting off their service.

Customers can call Algoma Utilities to make payment arrangements. The utility will negotiate payment options with customers. A final disconnection notice will be issued prior to limiting service.

To apply for energy assistance, customers should call 1-866-HEATWIS (432-8947) or Kewaunee County Human Services at 388-3777. Income guidelines for energy assistance have changed from previous years and customers who may not have qualified in the past may be eligible for assistance with utility bill payments. For a family of four to qualify, the total gross income (three months) must be $11,811 or less.

To make payment arrangements or to explore payment options with the utility, call the utility at 487-5556. Office hours are Monday through Thursday 7:00 am – 4:30 pm and Friday 7:00 am to 11:00am.