News Archive

Algoma Utilites honored for energy leadership

Algoma has received WPPI Energy’s Leading by Example award for demonstrating best practices that help consumers reduce energy costs, save energy and protect the environment. The award is intended to highlight the city’s efforts and encourage local citizens to take advantage of opportunities to save energy and make use of green power in their own businesses and homes.

“The City of Algoma has long offered a host of programs aimed at helping local citizens save energy and make use of renewables,” said WPPI Energy President and CEO Roy Thilly. “Now, we’re taking this commitment one step further, ‘walking the talk’ to encourage community members to do the same.”

The Leading by Example award was presented on September 16 in Green Bay, Wis., at the annual meeting of WPPI Energy, the nonprofit power supplier for Algoma Utilities and 50 other community-owned electric utilities. To qualify for the award, WPPI Energy member communities must do the following in their utility and municipal facilities:

  • Put in place a policy or resolution to pursue energy efficiency.
  • Identify and carry out energy-saving projects.
  • Install a community-based renewable energy project.
  • Purchase green power to offset some or all of the energy used in one or more buildings.
WPPI Energy supports the municipalities with technical assistance and funding, including a $10 million revolving fund providing zero-interest loans for qualified energy efficiency and renewable energy projects. Algoma is one of the first 11 WPPI Energy member communities to receive the award.

“Saving energy is the most important thing we can do to delay the need for expensive new power plants, help customers keep their bills down in tough economic times, and protect the environment,” said Thilly, who presented the award. “Algoma is leading by example for a better energy future.”

The photo above is Richard Riederer, general manager for Algoma Utilities, accepting the Leading by Example Award from Dale Lythjohan, chairman of the Board of Directors of Wppi Energy and general manager of Cedarburg Light & Water Utility.